home nav button

about me nav button about me nav button

reviews nav button reviews

guest reviews nav button

games nav button

submissions nav button

youtube my channel Twitter Icon
by twittericons
submissions nav button

HOME PAGE

THOUGHT OF THE DAY:
The adventures you experience on a journey are far more important than your destination.

QUOTE OF THE DAY:
"Not all those who wander are lost"
~J.R.R. Tolkien

January 1, 2014

Books and musicals are two of my favorite things. What happens when you combine the two? Apparently five Tony awards, rave reviews, and the cutest Broadway stars in the history of ever.

Growing up, I loved the book Matilda by Roald Dahl. It stars a young, incredibly brilliant girl, who has to outsmart her evil school principal by using magical telekinetic powers. What’s not to love?! When I heard that they were producing a Broadway musical, I was so excited. As of now, I have played all the Matilda songs on my iTunes account at least six times, and some of them even more! The  soundtrack features four adorable 10-12 year old girls who alternate playing the title role, all extremely talented. Unfortunately, the show is currently only playing in NYC, so I’ll be waiting a while before they go on tour.

While counting the days for Matilda the Musical to reach my city, I can stay busy with another adventurous young girl—Keara, the main character of the book Darkbeast by Morgan Keyes. You can check out a review of it here.


June 11, 2013

Hey everybody! School's finally out and I'm happy to bring you two new reviews, both of books sent to me by Simon and Schuster.

One of the books, The Ability, has earned itself a place of honor on my bookshelf next to Harry Potter and the Percy Jackson series. I loved the main character and his entourage of heroic friends. The climax of the book occurs at a grand children's ball in England, complete with ice sculptures, ball gowns, and tuxedos. I was terribly disappointed when I googled the ball and learned that it didn't actually exist because the author described it so beautifully.

Later in the summer expect more reviews. Within the next few weeks I'll be reviewing a book from the "Saranormal" series by Phoebe Rivers as well as The Power of One by Byce Courtenay. The "Saranormal" books look really interesting, and The Power of One is one of my all time favorite books.

I hope you're all having a great summer full of new books and adventures!


 

 

April 4, 2013

It is a truth universally acknowledged…that the best way to spend spring break is watching an entire webseries on YouTube.

The Lizzie Bennet Diaries, which recently finished with over 100 videos, follows the story of Elizabeth Bennet, a witty and intelligent girl who has to deal with a marriage-obsessed mother, troublesome sisters, and her own love interest. Sound familiar? That’s because it’s a modern adaptation of Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austin. The writers of the show follow the story but add their own unique spin to it. All the actors and actresses play their parts perfectly in this roller coaster of a story.

I’m completely in love with everything about the web series. I was nearly in tears during some episodes, and hysterically laughing at others. The actors play their parts so convincingly that I had a hard time believing the show wasn’t scripted! I’ve gotten a few of my friends hooked as well, some who were fans of the book and others who are entirely new to the Bennet story.

All in all, the Lizzie Bennet Diaries are a great way to spend a few afternoons. Here's a link to the entire playlist:

http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLS_PzAkdmDSI-KhZcGAFIveX0RC6jGhOb

 

 

April 22, 2012
Hey there guys!
Sorry I've abandoned you. But to make it up to you, I'm writing this blog plus I put out a new review! Keep reading for the link.

I've been pretty busy these past few months. Since February I've been hard at work on a musical called Persephone Cubana, a retelling of the Greek legend using Cuban gods, Cuban music, and Cuban dancing. It's extremely fun although also extremely tiring. Our first show is on Friday and I can hardly believe we've only been working for a few months!

Also, on my non-tweenbookreviews YouTube channel I've been doing VEDA (Vlog Every Day in April). Well, kind of. My friend Hailey (also a lover of books) and I have been alternating our videos so that each of us is really only doing Vlog Every Other Day in April. I've been doing the even days, which means in the past month I've put out more than ten videos. I'm quite proud of this acheivement.

Back to you guys.

Click here for a review of a book sent to me by Scholastic called Seeing Cinderella by Jenny Lundquist. Hope you enjoy it!

January 8, 2012
(first blog of the new year!)

French the llama! There are only two days left before the world is full of AWESOME!

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (one of my favorite authors) is going to be released on January 10th and I will be getting, reading, and reviewing it 3-5 business days later. John read the first two chapters of the book on his Youtube channel and I'm completely hooked. The channel (http://www.youtube.com/vlogbrothers) has over 900 videos made over the course of 5 years by John and his brother Hank about their daily lives, adventures, and plans to decrease worldsuck. (Worldsuck n.--the amount of suck in the world.)

Another awesome thing about the Vlogbrothers videos is that they have inspired the creation of an entire community called nerdfighters. (Nerdfighter n.--a person made completely of awesome.) I myself am a proud nerdfighter who plans on meeting other nerdfighters on January 27th when I go to a nerdfighter gathering to meet John and Hank in the flesh as part of John's book tour.

The point of this blog was that you should become a nerdfighter and read The Fault in Our Stars. Also, if you're in the Palo Alto area, you should come see John speak. Information about the show is here.

If you'd like more information about being a nerdfighter, click here to see the Vlogbrothers FAQ video. DFTBA

 

 

November 27, 2011

Just a few days ago I recieved a book review submission via my email, tweenbookreviews@rocketmail.com

The review by 10 year old Annalise is of the book Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. Go check it out!:
Alice in Wonderland Review

It's a great coincidence that Annalise chose to review this book, as the companion novel--Through the Looking Glass--which features many of the same characters is my school play this year. By some miracle, after auditioning I landed the part of Alice and the entire cast is currently hard at work rehearsing for our opening show in mid-January.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Welcome! 1/16/09

  Annette Laing 1/27/09

  Rick Riordan 3/6/10

  Abrams Books 1/19/10

  Martha & Chip 4/19/10

  Leah's Blog 6/26/11 

Youtube Vlog 6/30/11

Snipesville Vlog 7/28/11