home nav button

about me nav button about me nav button

reviews nav button reviews

guest reviews nav button

games nav button

submissions nav button

youtube my channel Twitter Icon
by twittericons
submissions nav button


THOUGHT OF THE DAY: I wouldn't be the person I am today without having read all the books I did through my tween years. Who will you be when you get older?

QUOTE OF THE DAY: “Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book.” John Green, The Fault in Our Stars

November 9, 2015

Boy, where does the time go? I kept telling myself I needed to add an entry to the site but didn't realize it had been a whopping three and ahalf years!

I've just returned from a few days visiting Reed College in Portland, one of the colleges I will be applying to next month. If you're like me when I was in middle school, college is eons away and not something you even think about now. But what I can tell you is that one day you'll wake up and college will be just around the corner. Seriously. You'll wonder where your tween and early teen years went and wonder if you made the best of them.

One of the things I realize now, with SATs -- the college entrance exam -- behind me is that reading throughout my tween and teen years gave me a crazy advantage in applying to colleges. It helped me become a stronger writer; it expanded my vocabulary; and it expanded my knowledge base. Keep in mind I never read to get ahead. I read because I love to read. It just happens that reading brings along benefits that open opportunities at every turn.


April 22, 2012
Hey there guys!
Sorry I've abandoned you. But to make it up to you, I'm writing this blog plus I put out a new review! Keep reading for the link.

I've been pretty busy these past few months. Since February I've been hard at work on a musical called Persephone Cubana, a retelling of the Greek legend using Cuban gods, Cuban music, and Cuban dancing. It's extremely fun although also extremely tiring. Our first show is on Friday and I can hardly believe we've only been working for a few months!

Also, on my non-tweenbookreviews YouTube channel I've been doing VEDA (Vlog Every Day in April). Well, kind of. My friend Hailey (also a lover of books) and I have been alternating our videos so that each of us is really only doing Vlog Every Other Day in April. I've been doing the even days, which means in the past month I've put out more than ten videos. I'm quite proud of this acheivement.

Back to you guys.

Click here for a review of a book sent to me by Scholastic called Seeing Cinderella by Jenny Lundquist. Hope you enjoy it!



January 8, 2012
(first blog of the new year!)

French the llama! There are only two days left before the world is full of AWESOME!

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (one of my favorite authors) is going to be released on January 10th and I will be getting, reading, and reviewing it 3-5 business days later. John read the first two chapters of the book on his Youtube channel and I'm completely hooked. The channel (http://www.youtube.com/vlogbrothers) has over 900 videos made over the course of 5 years by John and his brother Hank about their daily lives, adventures, and plans to decrease worldsuck. (Worldsuck n.--the amount of suck in the world.)

Another awesome thing about the Vlogbrothers videos is that they have inspired the creation of an entire community called nerdfighters. (Nerdfighter n.--a person made completely of awesome.) I myself am a proud nerdfighter who plans on meeting other nerdfighters on January 27th when I go to a nerdfighter gathering to meet John and Hank in the flesh as part of John's book tour.

The point of this blog was that you should become a nerdfighter and read The Fault in Our Stars. Also, if you're in the Palo Alto area, you should come see John speak. Information about the show is here.

If you'd like more information about being a nerdfighter, click here to see the Vlogbrothers FAQ video. DFTBA



November 27, 2011

Just a few days ago I recieved a book review submission via my email, tweenbookreviews@rocketmail.com

The review by 10 year old Annalise is of the book Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. Go check it out!:
Alice in Wonderland Review

It's a great coincidence that Annalise chose to review this book, as the companion novel--Through the Looking Glass--which features many of the same characters is my school play this year. By some miracle, after auditioning I landed the part of Alice and the entire cast is currently hard at work rehearsing for our opening show in mid-January.



August 17, 2011

Today I went to the NASA IT Summit 2011 in downtown San Francisco! I met an astronaut, Leland Melvin, and America's first African-American female combat pilot, Vernice "FlyGirl" Armour. They were both great speakers with hilarious stories! Leland told the story of how, as a child, he burned a hole in his mother's carpet with a play chemistry set. Vernice told us that she joined the woman's ROTC to get a free trip to Mardi Gras. The entire time they were talking to us, the conference was being broadcasted over the Digital Learning Network to schools in LA and Ohio. When they finished talking, the broadcasting cameras disconnected and the real fun began!

With a bunch of other kids, school groups, and parents, I wandered around the main conference hall where booths featuring various aspects of technology were arranged. I learned about a few NASA developed apps, played jeopardy, watched a holographic presentation, and took a picture with the NASA mascot (a rubber chicken in a space suit). Then I struck up conversation with Romeo, a man who works with NASA. Eventually the conversation turned to space-related books. He reccomended I read Packing for Mars by Mary Roach and The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Universe by Douglas Adams. I've already started reading the Hitchhikers guide, and love it! Look forward to a review in the next couple of weeks!

July 28, 2011

On Tuesday I had the great chance to have another Skype interview, this time with Dr. Annette Laing! Dr. Laing is the author of one of my favorite historical fictions series, The Snipesville Chronicles. A review of the first book can be found here. It was great to interview her. The first part of the interview is right here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ij6Cw0miPsM&feature=feedu

I hope you liked the interview, and the books if you've read them!

  Welcome! 1/16/09

  Annette Laing 1/27/09

  Rick Riordan 3/6/10

  Abrams Books 1/19/10

  Martha & Chip 4/19/10

   Youtube Vlog 6/30/11